Inaugural Nürburgring Award to be presented at the ADAC Zurich 24h Race

  • Presentation of the new motorsport award on 27 May 2016
  • Three categories: Ambassador of the Year, Brand of the Year and Lifetime Achievement
  • Jury of well-known motorsport experts

Cologne/Nürburg, 11 May 2016

A new motorsport accolade, the Nürburgring Award, will be presented for the first time on the occasion of this year’s ADAC Zurich 24h Race.

The award ceremony on Friday 27 May 2016 honours brands and personalities in the three categories Ambassador of the Year, Brand of the Year and Lifetime Achievement.

The jury selecting the award winners features Formula 1 presenter Kai Ebel, DTM and former F1 driver Timo Glock, and former Mercedes-Benz motorsport director Norbert Haug. Popular German TV hosts Katja Burkard and Florian Ambrosius will guide the audience through the evening. Some 300 guests from the media, sport and business worlds will honour the legendary Nürburgring at the cinema within the Nürburgring ring°werk. The evening promises emotional moments covering Germany’s most relevant motorsport topics.

The joint initiators of the award are Nürburgring owner capricorn Nürburgring GmbH, the ADAC as organiser of the 24h Race, media partners RTL and Auto Bild Motorsport, and _wige MEDIA AG as promoter and producer of the single biggest race in the world.

The award ceremony can be viewed via live stream at After the award _wige MEDIA AG will provide text and video material on request.

The RTL media group will be in charge of news coverage of the ADAC Zurich 24h Race for the first time. RTL NITRO will broadcast the race at the Nordschleife live for nearly 26 continuous hours, aiming for the longest non-stop coverage in the history of free-to-air TV. Main broadcaster RTL Television will report on the start on Saturday and on the finish on Sunday in the course of the Formula 1 Monaco Grand Prix coverage.

Press contact for further information:

Sabine Worgitzki
Public Relations

phone   +49 [0]221 348 038 27

Leave a Reply